de los Jesuitas

The history of the Church of the Jesuits dates back more than three centuries. Tradition has it that it stands on the birthplace of San Ildefonso, the Patron Saint of Toledo.

Plaza padre Juan de Mariana, 1

Opened for worship in 1718, it features in the main chapel an original altarpiece consisting of a fresco painting, framed by columns and a painted perspective frame, in what has come to be called trompe-l'oeil.

Large baroque altarpieces on each side of the central nave make it a true sculpture museum that, in many cases, narrates the history of the Society of Jesus in the city for centuries.

Its enormous twin towers, over 50 meters high, offer visitors a unique experience: enjoying the most privileged view of the medieval city and the imposing Primatial Cathedral of Toledo.